Master of Ceremonies:

Tom Hudson, VP of News and Special Correspondent, NPR/WLRN

In a journalism career covering news from high global finance to neighborhood infrastructure, Tom Hudson is the Vice President of News and Special Correspondent for WLRN.  He hosts and produces the Sunshine Economy and anchors the Florida Roundup in addition to leading the organization’s news engagement strategy.



Constitution Day Miami readers include celebrities, judges, elected officials, attorneys, war veterans and other prominent community and business leaders.  Please see our esteemed list of 2014 readers below:

  • Ramon Abadin, President Elect, The Florida Bar
  • R. Alexander Acosta, Dean, FIU College of Law
  • Judge William Altfield, County Court Judge, 11th Judicial Circuit
  • Jolie Balido, President, Roar Media
  • Judge Jennifer Bailey, Administrative Judge, 11th Judicial Circuit
  • Deborah Baker, President Miami-Dade FAWL
  • Madison Bequer, Middle School, Essay Contest Winner
  • Leigh-Ann A. Buchanan, President, Wilkie D. Ferguson, Jr. Bar Association
  • Michael Caruso, Federal Public Defender
  • Superintendent Alberto Carvalho
  • Daniella Levine Cava, Miami-Dade County Commissioner-Elect District 8
  • Robert Cuevas, Jr. County Attorney, Miami-Dade County
  • Marcia K. Cypen, Executive Director, Legal Services of Greater Miami, Inc.
  • Commissioner Jose “Pepe” Diaz
  • Cynthia Henry Duval, President, Gwen S. Cherry Black Women Lawyers Association
  • Patrick Fraser, WSVN
  • Judy Gelber, AP US History Teacher at iPrep Academy of the Miami Dade County Public Schools
  • Mayor Oliver Gilbert, City of Miami Gardens
  • Commissioner Sally Heyman
  • Patricia Ireland, Past-President, NOW (National Organization for Women)
  • Rear Admiral Scott B Jerabek, U.S. Southern Command


  • Judge Aldaberto Jordan, United States Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeal
  • Beth Leon, High School, Essay Contest Winner
  • City of Miami Fire Chief Maurice Kemp
  • Senator Gwen Margolis
  • Ricardo M. Martínez-Cid, President, Cuban American Bar Association
  • Carlos J. Martinez, Miami Dade Public Defender
  • Victoria Mendéz, City Attorney, City of Miami
  • ​Ralph Mizraji, L’chaim Kosher Vodka
  • Andrew Moss, President, Miami Dade Justice Association
  • City of Miami Police Chief Manuel Orosa
  • Ramiro A. Ortiz, President and CEO, HistoryMiami
  • Rabbi Eliot Pearlson
  • Devona Reynolds-Perez, Vice President of the Caribbean Bar Association
  • Herman J. Russomanno III, President, Dade County Bar Association
  • Stephen Sawitz, CEO, Joe’s Stone Crab
  • Elizabeth F. Schwartz, Esq., Co-Chair, Miami-Dade Gay & Lesbian Lawyers Association
  • Third District Court of Appeal Chief Judge Frank Shepherd
  • Howard Simon, Executive Director, American Civil Liberties Union of Florida
  • Alexis Smith
  • City Commissioner Francis Suarez
  • Alexandra Villoch, President and Publisher, Miami Herald Media Company
  • Dean Patricia White, University of Miami Law School